Take a look at this screen shot taken just minutes ago of this blog.

Inside you will see an Google Adsense ad with the title John Chow is old news. I do not know where this ad links to, but are you kidding me? I read John Chow’s blog daily and find a majority of his post very informative. He presents making money as a very profitable venture, but adds the caveat that you have to get things set up right and continue to tweak you blog to make money. Making money via the internet is not just a simple install this and poof ‘magic cash machine’. I am interested to learn who is behind this ad. If anyone has an idea please let me know.
The person who created this ad feels strongly enough that people will recognize John’s name and associate it to making money. Or else he would not of used John’s name.
What do you think of the ad? If people do not know who John Chow is, does this ad cause them to do a search for the name, thus defeating the ad’s purpose?
some people might agree with the ad. however, it’s just a marketing ploy. everyone can look at JC’s numbers and know he’s still going strong. the ad isn’t even targeted, other than using JC’s name. what way…? you should’ve clicked on it
Now, Now – since you are working towards your Adword certification you need to remember the spirit of the ads. I cannot click on it…..even though I really, really want to.
why not? if you’re genuinely curious as to what they’re offering, you should click. maybe they have something that’s impossible to pass up!
but to answer your second question, it is targeted to those who already know JC, like us. that was sort of my point initially
they’re trying to get us to click. it’s not targeted in any other way. they could’ve said “we can show you a better way to make money online” if they wanted to target non-knowers. then on the landing page they introduce JC and say why they’re better..blah blah blah
with that said, i think it’s kind of a weak ad. just my two cents, since you asked
Don’t the URL’s show up in that ad format? If its a 468×60 ad block a quick glance at Google and other sites like Squidoo that serve up that format shows that the URL should be included.
That screenshot was taken on this blog? I don’t see that format anywhere on this blog. Seems fishy ;-\
Linkbait?
Ok, here it is:
http://www.cashmoneyblogging.com
I searched for John Chow on Google and found that ad.
Cheers.
Sorry about the bad email – can’t tell immediately how it will be used.
Hey
You do not need to left click o the ad but you can always right click and extract the advertiser’s URL from there.
BTY i liked your 404 page. It’s cool.
That format is used in this post:
Google says: If you are not in the Top 3 of a SERP, you are wrong for the user
Sorry it seemed fishy.
Blog and Bucks –
Right click and properties only displays a google domain and cryptic letters and numbers.
I cannot take credit for the 404 – it came with the template. Chris Pearson is one witty guy.
Thanks for stopping by,
Tyson
haha, i’ve seen that ads couple times also.
but never thought to write it in a new post. so interesting. i think the ads is rediculous. it’s really-really not an elegant way to promote their ads.
that is so cheap!
well done Tyson. love it.
Tyson, no apology necessary…just tell me to jump off a bridge!
If I did tell you to jump off a bridge and you did – then I would have one less reader.
Ewwww, that sounds selfish. Although I am trying to get a good readership base.
Fun and games aside, I like comments and questions about what I post from readers. Those things tell me people are interested in what I publish.
Yes, you can see the advertisers URL if you right click on the Google Ad. I know there is a crypt part but there is the advertiser’s exact URL too. Just copy and paste it on a text document file and look at it carefully.
Ok, i thought that was your dog.
Did you figure out who it was? Whoever it was must be pretty proud knowing that we are talking about it! Now everyone will be doing it.
Well, I cant agree more.